A Series of Unlikely Explanations

You told me, you would say no,
You said you would let go,
But you found your one excuse,
Your one reason to retreat in cold recluse,
You said you would come back,
And you did…

You found your way back home,
You opened your arms again,
Fighting much refrain,
I could see it in your eyes,
Your refusal of the lies,
But you crumbled into your smile…

Crumbling me. You don’t disappoint, do you?

The sweet tremble of your lips,
The swaying of your hips,
The closure of your palms,
Behind my back…

And all the pretty things,
You promise inside,
Layering your soul,
On a dead shell beneath;
I can see through your lies,
You’re lying under your wreath;
Yet you return, to tell me you’re mine,
And you love me to the teeth?

All right, you got my attention.

Siddharth Pathak | 18th April 2013
NaPoWriMo Entry #4


4 comments

  1. I let this happen. I did. And even though I know I’m going to regret it.
    I stay firm and call forth the storm that is brewing right in front of my eyes.

    “I can see through your lies,
    You’re lying under your wreath;
    Yet you return, to tell me you’re mine,
    And you love me to the teeth?

    All right, you got my attention.”


Leave a Reply

