The Wolf

A blur fades away, into known disguise,
I have visions of you, every time I rub my eyes,
Like clouds bruising through moving skies,
My eyes come to light with no surprise…

And I am lost in the warmth of your sunrise,
The mountains move like rolling dice,
Down till the evening where the Sun now dies,
I don’t find you, to my surmise…

The night overshadows, the stars paralyze,
The clouds become still and the moon shies,
Darkness befalls in whole reprise,
Cloaking the earth in shaded lies…

I sit by the side in lost cries,
Silences prevail as solitude sighs,
Birthing distress, pangs arise,
Folding unto, my soul decries…

I change my form before I realize,
My cuts heal up, wounds cauterize,
Whiskers emerge, fangs incise,
To my shadow unknown, I give rise…

Scouring the surface, my hunt intensifies,
I take many a beast, on of my own size,
Sowing death by seed, as time flies,
Lumps of earth, by blood baptize…

My howls echo, death is nigh,
Deep inside, my scream defies,
Alone my spur, on thirst relies,
Open sores, of rotting apprise…

Return to the tomb, where my carcass underlies,
Move me into your cradle; soothe my red eyes,
Empty me from this beastly device,
Take me back to what I once comprised,
Swallow me whole; take me inside,
And put me to sleep where the never-ending lies,
Where howls emerge from wailing cries.


Siddharth Pathak | 27th March 2013


11 comments

  1. ~ Take me back to what I once comprised,
    Swallow me whole; take me inside,
    And put me to sleep where the never-ending lies,
    Where howls emerge from wailing cries. ~

    Siddharth these lines feel like home.

    Do you understand the severity of it?

    I can’t judge the writing, because the words feel like they’re mine.❤

    Thank you for this.

  2. Stupendous!
    The last two paragraphs especially, give the poem a Classical character, much like Blake…
    I love them.
    You are acquiring some flair for this genre!
    Keep it going🙂

  3. Return to the tomb, where my carcass underlies,
    Move me into your cradle; soothe my red eyes,
    Empty me from this beastly device,
    Take me back to what I once comprised,
    Swallow me whole; take me inside,
    And put me to sleep where the never-ending lies,
    Where howls emerge from wailing cries.

    This shows influence of your new found penchant for both horror and visualization via vernacular. The last part which I quote above truly truly relates to me as a reader and yet even as a seperate impartial critique, I’d say it is the piece de resistance of your work. The keystone. Brilliant laid the entire scene, traveling across the psyche-scape in marvelous flow. Kudos my friend. Kudos!

    Special mention; For once, I found a poem that seems not forced but far more gracefully fluid with rhyming scheme.

  4. The needful is done, the appreciation. Especially as everyone said the last few lines are beyond excellence. keep writing brother. soothe our souls.🙂


Leave a Reply

