Paisley

Crude, cold drops of the moon,
Falling in through the window,
Nestling in your eyes; tender lakes of paisley…

The ripples, the shimmers reflect only,
On the surface of my skin,
As I look deep into your paisley eyes,
As I shake, break and tremble inside…

The curve of your nose,
Is the dune of my energy,
I slide down a paisley drop; a simmer cascading on my forehead;
Beads of sweat from my heart, flowing out in a fountain…

Your palm played against my ribs,
Spread apart, warm, unmoving,
Bent like the undulation of a river,
Covering my heart in a paisley…

Like the petals of an orchid,
We touch each other’s head and toe,
Wrapped in a still swirl,
At the center of our soul lake,
We lie entwined,
Like two drops of paisley…

Our origami fingers folding into one another’s,
Like crumbling treetops, branches folding,
Paisley leaves twirling…

Our union becomes a paisley womb,
In which we are born again,
Bodies curled into one, in a paisley, for all perpetuity.


Siddharth Pathak
9th February, 2013


9 comments

  1. The best verse:

    “Like the petals of an orchid,
    We touch each other’s head and toe,
    Wrapped in a still swirl,
    At the center of our soul lake,
    We lie entwined,
    Like two drops of paisley…”

    Loved this one and the last three lines! This is amazing!


Leave a Reply

